The Proof Is In The Pudding

December 6, 2009 at 8:13 pm Leave a comment

After writing the “OMG White Beauty!!” post a while ago, a had a few people thinking that such things going on in certain minorities didn’t happen. They didn’t feel that the things I went into brief detail of was “hard evidence” that these things went on
….Well here’s the hard evidence. This Channel 4 Documentary focuses on people from various ethnic groups trying to look more whiter in appearence, as they feel it is more attractive and more acceptable. However it’s not just media based. If you watch the video you’ll see them explain other things that have happened to them in the past [and even now] that make them want to Westernize their appearence.
By watching this, I hope that people try to stop it rather than encourage this kind of thing to carry on.

Remember, the media’s idea of beauty does NOT correspond with my own. [i.e light skin, light eyes, long hair etc].
I do not wish to be white or look more Western in appearance because that’s not the way I naturally am.
As insecure as I can be, it has NO RELATION to my race. Out of all the things I’ll be unhappy about appearance wise, that will not be one of them.

While I think there is nothing wrong with those features, I don’t think it defines beauty as a whole. Yes that can be beautiful too, but beauty comes in every colour, race, hair texture, eye shape, body shape etc. I just wish the people in this documentary could realise that and love themselves the way they naturally¬†are.

http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshhbwgeAR5mddmM0c3m

Entry filed under: Britain, Colourism, Obsession, Racism, Real Beauty, The Media, What "Beauty" Is. Tags: , , , , .

Edward Cullen: He’s Not My Dream Boy [Jacob Black Neither] How Christmas has Changed Over The Years

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


