Edward Cullen: He’s Not My Dream Boy [Jacob Black Neither]

November 18, 2009 at 8:43 pm Leave a comment

There was a time when people thought of vampires as scary, cape wearing blood suckers that sleep in coffins and have garlic as a kryptonite. They were featured in many horror films, and caused people to fear them.
If you were to Google the term “vampire” in, an image like this would’ve come up

However, in the space of a few years, the most common type of image has changed from what you see above to well…this

If you don’t know that I’m talking about Twilight by now, then you must’ve been living under a rock for the past few years. Since the release of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series a few years ago, the sudden craze in this new kind of vampire has escalated. The love story between vampire Edward Cullen [I’ll put EC for short] and a human girl Bella has even been put up there with the likes of Romeo and Juliet. EC has made girls do things like write “I ❤ Edward Cullen” on their arms, refine new terms such as OCD [Obsessive Cullen Disorder] and even break up a few relationships, as some girls now feel the need to compare their boyfriends to thats it…a FICTIONAL CHARACTER. A good example can be seen in this FML quote:

Today my girlfriend dumped me proclaiming she wanted someone more like Edward. I asked her who Edward was. She held up a copy of her Twilight book. She was talking about a fictional vampire. FML

Now I’m a fan of the Twilight Series, and was curious to see what the film would end up like. Once I did see it, I was disappointed. Let’s face it…despite how “hot” people think EC’s character was, the film was crap. It was a bad interpretation of Stephanie Meyer’s book, and I felt that any “love scenes” between Bella and EC were ruined and made corny in the film. Instead of getting into those “romantic”moments, I ended up laughing my head off because it was that cheesy, especially at that “brand of heroin” line [a lot of my Twilight obsessed friends agreed with me on that one]. I was expecting something more gorier, considering that the subjects was vampires. I know it had to be kept moderate for children, but come one, I’ve seen more gore and guts in Pirates of The Carribean…and that’s Disney.

Even reading the books, I can never really say I felt any attraction towards EC’s character. While I did like the sounds of Jacob Black in New Moon and Eclipse, those thoughts were ruined once I found out that Taylor Lautner was playing him. He’s not exactly ugly I know, but then again, I was expecting something better (No offense).
Speaking of New Moon [the sequel to Twilight], it’s out in a few days. Though I was a bit tempted at first to see what it would be like, I refuse to see yet another Twilight book get ruined through film.

To me…the whole Twilight epidemic [mostly the film] is a craze taken too far. It’s one thing for people to read the books, watch the films, get the merchandise and go through such fads in the same way people did with Harry Potter, however I think it becomes something else when people try to bring fantasy into reality. You saw the quote above from FML, more and more girls are dumping their boyfriends after comparing them to the likes of EC and Jacob Black…people who they will never find someone like because they don’t even exist. Someone comparing their boyfriend to EC makes as much sense to me as comparing them to Peter Pan.

While I feel sorry for the former boyfriends of these girls, I feel even sorrier for the one everyone’s now obsessed with: Robert Pattinson. I can’t remember where I read this, but in an interview he stated how even after all the success, he still has no luck with girls as they want “Edward”, not him =(.

There was a point when I didn’t understand how a human could fall in love with such a vampire…until I started to watch True Blood.

Like Twilight, the HBO series is based on a book series. As bloody and gory as it can be…for some reason I still can’t get enough of it. While I like the story lines in both, I feel that True Blood is better than Twilight (That’s as a film….I haven’t read the books based on it) and more interesting to watch. Maybe it has something to do with it being a series rather than a film. Maybe if Twilight wasn’t actually good then I wouldn’t prefer one over the other.

Just to get things straight, I don’t hate Twilight. I simply think the craze is being taken too far with some girls getting “OCD” and comparing real life people to a fictional character. While I don’t want to see New Moon, I still like the book.

This post is getting pretty long, so I’m going to end it here; but I will finish with this: To any girl who is comparing real life boys to a fictional character: wake up to reality. There is no way you will find someone more or just like “Edward”, because Edward is F-I-C-T-I-O-N-AL. When you’re older you’ll only look back and wonder why you wasted your time trying to find someone who isn’t real. Until then [this is quoted from a friend] “Good luck finding some dude to bite you

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Fads/Crazes, High School, Obsession, Teenagers, The Media. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Being Veggie: Not As Hard As It May Seem The Proof Is In The Pudding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


