Being Veggie: Not As Hard As It May Seem

November 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm Leave a comment

I originally became vegetarian for a temporary amount of time. At the time I didn’t know much about why people turned vegetarian, so I took the time to look more into it. I was shocked at what I found. While I learnt new things, I was also reminded of things I had heard of before.

For instance, the way animals were treated in slaughterhouses. As ignorant as this may sound, I had no idea that it was as bad as it is now. I also looked at health and environmental reasons for turning vegetarian and was surprised at how much energy the human race simply uses for meat. I could go into more detail on these, but I believe the reasons are better explained on things such as the PETA website [I’ll put links at the end of this post].

The reasons for me turning vegetarian were also more personal. I felt that by continuing to eat meat knowing the information that I just found out, I would only be a hypocrite. Unless you don’t know by now, hypocrites are one thing that annoy me as they tend to have a lot of double standards. I don’t want to be one of those people. Even if I didn’t openly express my views against animal slaughtering, I would still feel guilty in my mind if I continued to eat meat. Which is why I stopped.

A lot of misconceptions on vegetarians is mainly based on one thing…ignorance. People generally don’t know much about what or how vegetarians eat or why they chose that lifestyle, so when stereotypes are bought out about it, they are normally easily believed. This level of ignorance is a problem, as it makes some people out there stick to their own narrows views about the whole thing rather than learn more on the subject. My own personal experience is when I tried to tell some people I know about the process of getting meat, and even showed them pictures. They were clearly disgusted by what they saw, and expressed how they didn’t want to hear anymore as they believed I was trying to make them vegetarian too, when that wasn’t the case. I was simply explaining to them where there meat came from and how it got on their plates. This hypocrisy I explained before also extends to people like them, the ones who have a rough idea of the process, are disgusted from it yet still choose to support that by continuing to eat it [due to what the media tells them].

There was a point when I thought I could never be vegetarian because I thought I wouldn’t like it and that it would be too difficult. Despite this, I thought I should at least try it before coming to a judgement. It turns out that since being a vegetarian, I’ve had much more of a healthier lifestyle. My diet’s more balanced, I seem to have more energy, and any chances of me having major health problems such as cancer have been reduced. I also prefer it (despite what I thought about it before).

I’m not saying that everyone should be vegetarian. As much as it would make things better for people’s health and the environment, I can’t change the way everyone eats. However, I do encourage everyone to try it and increase their knowledge of vegetarianism before they come to the harsh judgements and thought that they have. Below is a few of the websites I found my information from. There’s also a video that made me realize why I should turn vegetarian.

Meet Your Meat

 

Cruelty to Animals
http://www.goveg.com/factoryFarming.asp

How Being Vegetarian Is Better For Your Health
http://www.goveg.com/healthConcerns.asp

How Vegetarianism It Benefial To The Environment
http://www.goveg.com/environment.asp

Entry filed under: Being Vegetarian, Freedom of Speech, The Media, Youtube Video. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Let Me Guess, You’re Against It Right? Edward Cullen: He’s Not My Dream Boy [Jacob Black Neither]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


